Day 13: A Change of Pace

I’m not sure if you have noticed but I have experienced a bit a blogging slump in the last two days.  In an effort to help my ideas flow with a little ease, I have determined that the best way to remedy this creative ditch is to turn things in a different direction for tonight.  Although I decided when starting this blog that I would not make myself the star of it, I will be answering a series of 50 questions in the next two days that my readers may learn a bit more about the author behind the snarky entries, and to help me get my writing groove back.  So here we go…

*I blogged this during an important football game I know absolutely nothing about other than it gave me an excuse to make dip.   Ben, my boyfriend (who is visiting) is currently watching it, but joined in on commercials with hilarious answers I had to include*

1. How old would you be if you didn’t know how old you are? This is difficult to answer.  My interest in recipe trading and doing crossword puzzles puts me at about 75.  My love of Seinfeld would fool anyone into thinking I experienced the 90s as a young adult, putting me at about 35.  When I visit my mother and eat cereal in my pajamas, I’m approximately 7, and when I go to bed at 2am after talking on the phone with my boyfriend, I’m 16.  So I really can’t answer that one.

2. Which is worse, failing or never trying? Failing to never try.  Figure that one out. Booyah!  (Sorry, the 16 year old me took over for a second there)

3. If life is so short, why do we do so many things we don’t like and like so many things we don’t do? Plenty of people do what they like, and the rest of us pay taxes.

4. When it’s all said and done, will you have said more than you’ve done? It depends.  If I say I am going to blog for 30 days and then write and say a whole bunch of things, have I “done” or have I “said” by “having done” what I’ve “said”.  And if I “say” I’m going to give a confusing answer and then “do” it….well, I think you get the point.   

5. What is the one thing you’d most like to change about the world? Since everyone else has undoubtedly said “world peace”, I would really like to address how not all gas stations take credit cards.  Get with the times, folks.

6. If happiness were the national currency, what kind of work would make you rich? Rachel: “Ben would complain about others who are happier while watching football.”  Ben: “Rachel would drink Simply Limeade while watching 30 Rock.”

7. Are you doing what you believe in, or are you settling for what you are doing? Rachel: “I don’t believe that questions that offer a closed set of options help give us insight into the minds of others, rather offers purely shallow circumstantial conclusions.  So I’d say the first.” Ben: “I believe in watching Football. So I’m doing that.” (This question did not catch him during a commercial)

8. If the average human life span was 40 years, how would you live your life differently? Rachel: “I would change nothing. We’re not guaranteed tomorrow.” Ben:

9. To what degree have you actually controlled the course your life has taken? Rachel: “Well I wore boots today, and it’s snowing outside. That has to count for something.” Ben: “Rachel made dinner, dessert, then breakfast and dinner again. I am dating Rachel.”

10.  Are you more worried about doing things right, or doing the right things? Rachel: If you do the right things wrong, are they right?

11. You’re having lunch with three people you respect and admire.  They all start criticizing a close friend of yours, not knowing she is your friend.  The criticism is distasteful and unjustified.  What do you do? Rachel: “Lay my phone on the table and then pick it up suddenly and say “Tracy?  You’ve been on speaker the whole time? What?” Just to see their reaction.” Ben: “Join in. Just because they’re my friend doesn’t mean I like them.”

12.  If you could offer a newborn child only one piece of advice, what would it be? Rachel: “There will never be another time in your life when the sole expectation of you is sleeping and eating.  Don’t cry your way through it, you’ll have plenty of real reasons to cry later.”

13. Would you break the law to save a loved one? Ben: “I would break two.” Rachel: “I’d rather deal with the consequences of the law than the consequences of knowing I could have done something and did not.”

14. Have you ever seen insanity where you later saw creativity? Rachel: I can think of many instances of the opposite.” Ben: “Just the time Vincent sent me his ear.”

15. What’s something you know that you do differently than most people? Rachel: “I take my shirts off in a way that protects my neck, a habit I picked up recovering from thyroid surgery.  It’s a habit I can’t seem to kick.”

16.  How come the things that make you happy don’t make everyone happy? Rachel “Because I like it when people accidentally leave change in vending machines.”

17. What one thing have you not done that you really want to do? What’s holding you back? Rachel: “ Ben: “Answer questions about myself.  Oh wait, that’s done.

18. Are you holding onto something you need to let go of? Rachel: “Answering all of these questions thoroughly.  But I’m slowly letting go.”

19.  If you had to move to a state or country besides the one you currently live in, where would you move and why? Rachel: “England.  I love tea and grey clothing.”

20. Do you push the elevator button more than once?  Do you really believe it makes the elevator faster? Rachel: “It will certainly be serviced more.”

21.  Would you rather be a worried genius or a joyful simpleton? Rachel: “If I was a joyful simpleton I wouldn’t know it.  A worried genius knows they’re not a simpleton.” Ben: “Moderately content, intellectually underdeveloped.”

22. Why are you, you? Rachel: “Mike n Ikes.  Otherwise I don’t know.”

23.  Have you been the kind of friend you want as a friend? Rachel: “No.  I don’t share my Mike n Ikes.”

24. Which is worse, when a good friend moves away, or losing touch with a good friend who lives right near you? Rachel: “The second.  Although it’s less awkward when they then move away.”

25. What are you most grateful for? Rachel: “The Man upstairs and the man watching football to my left.

Obviously we are kidding for 90% of these, but we hoped you enjoyed reading.  25 more are coming tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

