Day 22: Time is No Damsel in Distress

Have you ever heard someone talk about time-saving strategies?  Let’s take a moment and think about  that sentence alone.  This is a sentence that uses time to save time.  It’s paradoxical at least.  That was another sentence that used time to save time.  You’re spending time right now reading not even about how to save time but the idea that people discuss it.  You have time for that, and apparently so do I.

Philosophical nuances aside, we spend a lot of time discussing how to save time.  Of all the myths about time-saving, the one that towers over all of them is the nutty notion that the Internet saves us time.  I’ll say it again in case you were checking Twitter while reading that: the Internet DOES NOT save us time.

Here is an example: I have decided to exercise.  I have actually decided to exercise with the time I spent blogging every night during this 30-day challenge.  That being said, I will be taking a reprieve from blogging in eight days and beginning a new 30-day challenge that exercises my physical muscles and gives my now tired creative ones a much-needed rest.  But of course I needed a plan to make this happen, and today I began researching a method of physical exertion which would fit into my narrow qualifications of acceptable exercise.  I have ruled out the gym because I hate it there.  I hate the people, I hate the music and I most of all hate locker rooms where there is the possibility of nudity that is not my own.  I am expressly against this and also really don’t want to spend money on a membership.  I needed a method of exercise which would not take too long every day and could possibly even be done in the privacy of my own home.  Research yielded a picture of a kettle bell, which I then read about for about two hours with my time-saving internet-accessible device.  During this time of reading and weighing options and considering the reviews of every Amazon customer possible and calculating the cost of shipping a giant weighted bell to myself that I might toss it around in exchange for better thighs, I could have called a friend of mine who is a personal trainer and asked her.  But no, I did no such crazy thing.  Instead I read and compared reviews myself  and looked at packages costing hundred of dollars only to finally close the laptop and head over to WalMart where I purchased a $16 kettle bell with an instructional DVD included.  I shall begin my regime in eight days.

I could have gone to WalMart and asked someone, or I could have called my friend.  But instead I buy into the crazy lie that I can, with the help of the Internet, become an expert in all things and in the end, save myself some time by “doing it myself.”  I blogged a few weeks ago about the myth of “DIY” and how in the end, it costs you in time what you saved in money.  The internet is no different.

Being a more cerebral and mental person than I am an action person, I understand how living in the information world can be interpreted as better than living in the real world.  That was really convoluted way of saying that sometimes we need to get off our butts and stop trying to save time and actually push forward on things.  I am the queen of few things, but I sit on the throne of not enjoying the moment I’m in because I’m so obsessed with what is going to happen in the next minute.  I think that when you try to think of ways to save time, you end up wasting more of it than you planned and certainly do not enjoy the time you are spending right at that moment.

I went to WalMart after work and returned with my kettle bell and DVD to the church for a meeting.  The meeting was not set to begin until 7:00 and I saw this as an opportunity to enjoy my dinner and get acquainted with my new exercise form.  I popped in DVD and watched the cheery woman instructing her new client (me) as I ate macaroni and cheese.  This was when one of my coworkers walked in and stared at me blankly.  “You know you have to actually DO the work out for it to work, right?  Not just watch it and eat?”

He obviously misunderstood the situation and did not read the terrifying stories I did of those who injured themselves by misusing kettle bells.  But for the sake of a neat and tidy ending to this blog, he was right.  You have to sometimes take a page from Nike’s book and just do it.

1 comment
  1. Terri said:

    Thanks for sharing! I also need to “Just Do It!”

Leave a Reply

